Award-Winning Books to Read

 

The Verde at Greenbelt Station Blog, Greenbelt, MD  Looking for a good book to read this summer? You can't go wrong with one of these award-winning books.

Looking for something to do this summer in your downtime at your apartment? Reading is a great way to help keep your mind healthy and active during the laid back summer months. The Verde at Greenbelt Station Blog has gathered together a list of award-winning books that are worth reading.

 

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead — Pulitzer Prize Winner (2017)

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hellish for all the slaves but especially bad for Cora; an outcast even among her fellow Africans, she is coming into womanhood - where even greater pain awaits. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape.

 

Far from the Tree by Robin Benway — National Book Award Winner (2017)

Perfect for fans of NBC’s This Is Us, Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms — how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it.

 

The Road by Cormac McCarthy — Pulitzer Prize Winner (2007)

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.

 

Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner — Pulitzer Prize Winner (1972)

A story of discovery—personal, historical, and geographical. Confined to a wheelchair, retired historian Lyman Ward sets out to write his grandparents' remarkable story, chronicling their days spent carving civilization into the surface of America's western frontier. But his research reveals even more about his own life than he's willing to admit. What emerges is an enthralling portrait of four generations in the life of an American family.

 

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton — Pulitzer Prize Winner (1921)

This is Newland Archer’s world as he prepares to marry the beautiful but conventional May Welland. But when the mysterious Countess Ellen Olenska returns to New York after a disastrous marriage, Archer falls deeply in love with her. Torn between duty and passion, Archer struggles to make a decision that will either courageously define his life—or mercilessly destroy it.

 

Have you read any good books lately? Let us know by leaving a comment on this post with the title and author, as well as your personal review of the book. Thanks for reading our post. We hope you have an eventful summer here in the beautiful Greenbelt, MD!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Comment